Double bassist Simon Polezhayev was born in Moscow, Russia. A year after his birth, family immigrated to the United States and settled in Sea Cliff, New York. Raised in a musical family he began studying piano at the age of three, giving his first solo performance when he was five years old. Simon has since appeared along side his parents, pianists Yelena and Vladimir Polezhayev and brother, violinist Anton, in numerous recitals in the Metropolitan New York Area, such as The Concert Series at Hofstra University, CAMI Hall, Steinway Hall an The Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall. At age 13, Simon began studying the double bass and within a year received a scholarship to attend Juilliard’s Pre-College Division.

In 2005 Simon performed the Dragonetti Concerto with the Island Chamber Orchestra conducted byJeremy Kempton  and two years later performed the Koussevitsky Concerto with the Juilliard Pre-College Orchestra conducted by Adam Glaser. In 2011 Simon performed Ditersdorf Concerto with the Juilliard Chamber Orchestra at the Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center. In the summers of 2006-2008 Simon attended the Aspen Summer Music Festival, where he studied with Eugene Levinson and Albert Laszlo. His past two summers were spent at the Schlesweig-Holstein Orchestra Academy in Germany, where he worked with conductors such as Christoph Eschenbach, Ivan Fischer and Christoph von Dohnanyi.

Simon’s Juilliard highlights include performing as Principal Bass under the baton of Alan Gilbert and James Levine and playing in the master classes of Thomas Martin, Jeff Bradetich and Klaus Trumpf. Enrolled at school Simon received  Jerome L. Greene Fellowship Award. In 2013 Simon graduated  two-year master’s program in the studio on Eugene Levinson, principal bass of  the New York Philharmonic and start working in Hyogo Performing Arts Center Orchestra, Japan. From 2016 Simon holds Principal Bass position at Osaka Philharmonic Orchestra, Japan.


00:00 Bach – Two Minuets
02:30 Vandal – Concerto, Mov.II
09:07 Vandal Concerto, Mov.I
16:48 Granados – Intermezzo
20:51 De Falla – Nana
23:21 Ravel – Habanera